Reviews

Fantastic day with Cris…

Our group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Prosecco area with Cris as our guide. While driving to the wineries, Cris gave us a thorough overview of the area and the unique characteristics of the wine produced there, even within a very short distance inside its’ boundaries. We also learned how Prosecco differs from Champagne and Cava.

We visited a nice variety of wineries and learned a great deal about the options available within the Prosecco line… options we unfortunately don’t have in the states. We also received a mini-course on what to look for when evaluating and tasting a wine. We had a delicious lunch at a small osteria and greatly enjoyed speaking with the owner(s). All of us purchased multiple bottles of Prosecco and eagerly await their arrival.

Thanks, Cris, for a wonderful visit. I give my highest recommendation for a tour with Visit Prosecco Italy.

Duane Holland
November 1, 2018

Perfect Prosecco Afternoon

After nearly being drowned in the Acqua Alta yesterday, myself and my girlfriend couldn’t wait to get out of Venice and onto our afternoon of Prosecco and sight seeing. And we couldn’t be more pleased.

Oriana met us off the train and right away was filling us in on the local area and the history of Prosecco.

Not being able to make a choice as to which winery to go to or restaurant to eat at I asked for Oriana’s opinion and she was spot on both times.

Couldn’t have asked for a better guide or companion, would recommend in a heart beat and already trying to figure out when we can go again.

Thanks so much!

Dara & Isobel

Dara McKeagney
October 30, 2018

Excellent and very informative!

We were met by Oriana at the train station and then then to three wineries, all fabulous and extremely professional. We felt very relaxed and well looked after and despite terrible weather we had a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend this trip to those visiting the area. Thanks to Oriana and the ladies in each of the wineries.

Beverley Cadogan
October 30, 2018

Great time with famiy

Oriana was awesome, had a fun day with her. The wineries we visited had very friendly staff.

Namrita
October 28, 2018

Prosecco with the girls

We spent the weekend away to celebrate a friends 60th birthday. We were collected from a our hotel by Cris in a luxurious 8 seater car. We were sofa driven to 3 vine yards and stopped for the most divine meal in the Prosecco hills. Cris was an amazing host. He was polite, friendly and very knowledgeable. He selected the best vine yards for us to sample the finest Prosecco. Cris helped us to order bottles of Prosecco that have been delivered very quickly to the UK. The whole experience is highly recommended. It is one of the best weekends I have experienced.

Teresa Gotham
October 24, 2018

Absolutely fabulous

We were a group of ladies visiting the Prosecco Region. We had the trip of a lifetime especially thanks to our Chauffeur.

Karen Askey
October 23, 2018

The Prosecco region is beautiful, and Oriana opened many wonderful places/experiences to us.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in the Prosecco region, and during our tour with Oriana, we visited three of the best local wineries for private tastings and thoughtful explanations of the many intricacies of making Prosecco. We experienced not just a beautiful place, but also what life is like for the people who live and work there. Over the course of a few hours we toured much of the western end of the region, tasted some fabulous Prosecco (yes, it is better than the Prosecco you can find at home), had a delightful lunch at a small and very local bar, learned the best place to experience the annual Chestnut Festival that was to open that evening. Oriana loves the region she has lived in most all of her life, and made us feel welcome and comfortable in her world. it was a great experience!

Chris & Steve Foli
October 23, 2018

It was a amazing day and Christiano was a excellent guide who made a very special special birthday very memorable. Thank you worth every penny

5 star all the way

Karen askey
October 13, 2018

This was a major highlight of our holiday and we’re looking forward to exploring more of the prosecco region on our next visit. Grazie mille Cris for organising an unforgettable day☺

Fantastic scenery, expert tour guide, luscious wines, education & tastings. The prosecco vending machine was the grand finale!

Rosanne DiVenuto
October 13, 2018

Great experience

We had a lovely time with Walter. He was friendly and tried his best to communicate with us, although English isn’t his first language. He came prepared with a return train schedule and water. We were so happy that he was able to locate specific wineries for us, especially on such short notice. You could do this tour on your own but having a driver who knows the area, the wineries and the logistics just makes the trip so much more enjoyable. Thank you again.

Kiesha Darko
October 11, 2018

Stunning area and Prosecco

We hired Oriana. She picked us up at Coruda station & we travelled the Prosecco Rd to Valdobbiadene area. Visited La Tordera winery, a small newly renovated place. A delightful very knowledgable girl called Jasmine hosted our tastings of 3 Proseccos. The second winery , Col Vetoraz, a bigger venture and quite commercialised, charged 6 Euros to taste. The woman was OK, not as interested or interesting as Jasmyne. Beautiful proseccos though. Unfortunately we were under pressure from Oriana to hurry at the first winery & at the second as it was past their closing time then we didn’t go to anymore places. We were expecting to go to at least 3 or 4 wineries as advertised, but according to Oriana due to time, maybe siesta time? We finished our tour early so not sure why that happened.

Also we wanted to go to the stone hut near Col Veteraz for lunch, where you help yourself to meats, cheese etc and leave the money & get Prosecco from the vending machine. A bit of a novelty. Oriana convinced us that she had a better place run by her friends. It was not great, an enormous plate of meat, cheese & a few vegetables. Not good for our vegetarian member of the party. Plus, it was very expensive. Wouldn’t do that again.

The countryside was drop dead beautiful around Valdobbiadene & well worth a visit but it turned out to be very expensive for the car and driver, lunch, tasting costs for visiting just two wineries.

Reply from Jo at Visit Prosecco Italy

Hi Diane, thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback. Both Oriana and I are so very sorry that your trip didn’t meet your expectations. I’ve been working with Oriana for well over a year and the glowing reviews below are typical of the feedback I receive both through this page and via email. I’ve looked over the booking and have spoken to Oriana and I’m leaving this reply to add a bit of clarity for the benefit of other readers. This is not intended to undermine your personal experience. All feedback is welcome and helps us do better.

  • this website and the booking process, including my welcome email and emails with your driver are all clear that within 4 hours you can expect to visit 1-2 wineries. I’m sorry that you were under the impression that 3-4 wineries were included. Oriana did make it clear in her email that this would be possible with a 6-hour visit only.
  • Likewise, my welcome email is clear that the wineries close during lunch. I have, however, taken the opportunity to include this information on the pricing page to be extra clear.
  • I understand that Oriana suggested the lunch place because you were travelling with a vegetarian friend, which the stone hut/osteria does not cater for given it’s bread, meat and cheese only. The place she recommended accommodated your bread, meat and cheese lunch plans while also serving local vegetables at a cost of around €10 per person. Again, apologies that this suggestion didn’t turn out to be what you were looking for.

I’m truly sorry that your visit to the Prosecco region didn’t turn out to be the highlight you’d hoped it would be. If you are ever back in Italy, I invite you to email me and I’ll personally help you design an itinerary that I’m confident will exceed your expectations. Ultimately, that is my goal – to help people see the wonders of this part of the world and I hope you give the region a second try.

Diane Dennis
October 11, 2018

Queen of Prosecco

Oriana is the Queen of Prosecco! She met us at the train station as planned. On the way to the first winery she gave us a lot of history and facts about the prosecco region. The first stop was a small family run and owned winery. The prosecco and wine both along with food for tasting was fabulous! We learned a lot more about prosecco! We were able to ship from this winery and Oriana could bring bottles back from other wineries for shipment. We visited another winery before heading for lunch. We were able to eat outside in a very local restaurant. We had her choose items for tasting. All were delicious. A visit to the vending machine was next. To be honest, we asked to do this but knowing what I know know it was my least favorite stop of the day. There are multiple vending machines and many, many people. My fault for thinking this was an out of the way kind of place. We did vend a bottle and enjoyed the view. The last winery was much bigger with outstanding views. Oriana got us back to the train station and sadly our day was over. We were a group of 6 with ages ranging from 27-56 and everyone enjoyed it and ranked it highly. We would definitely recommend Oriana! Thank you, Oriana!!

Janice Kazda
October 7, 2018

Excellent Trip

Cris picked up from our hotel promptly and took us on the most wonderful afternoon trip. His knowledge and expertise with respect to Prosecco was simply outstanding and very enthusiastic.

Not only did he take us to a superb Winery (Adami) but the restaurant he took us to was also fantastic. Lovely food, spectacular views and home produced beer!!

Cris was the perfect host. I would not hesitate to use him.

Nick Fowler
October 5, 2018

A fabulous day away from the crowds, easily done from Venice

We booked an afternoon Prosecco tour with a local guide, Chris, who met us at the Conegliano train station for a wonderful afternoon, mostly in the DOCG. Chris was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. He pre-arranged tastings at two great wineries with both traditional ties and futuristic vision. It was a wonderful sunny day and the beauty of the area is spectacular. This afternoon was just what the doctor ordered after battling crowds in Rome and Venice. I hope it doesn’t really catch on because the serenity and personal attention was so satisfying. Although the wine making techniques are fully as modern as Nappa, the tasting scene is much less developed. We had time to visit the vending machine and relax further with a bottle of Valdobiadenne brut Prosecco and salami with tremendous views of the region — what a concept. Chris recommended we return from Colnago, so we could maximize our time near “Valdo” which was good advice and easy. The little country station was a good contrast to the giant urban train stations as well. We were staying in Venice and couldn’t come out until afternoon because of a morning conference. This worked and was one of my favorite days on our 10 day Italy trip. If you are staying in a nearby city like Venice, this is a great alternative activity. I would highly consider staying in the region because it’s that wonderful.

Karl W. Biesemier
October 4, 2018

Tour was fantastic

The best wine tour I’ve ever done. Would highly recommend it to everyone. Oriana was a knowledgeable and fun guide. We couldn’t have been happier!

Rose Terzariol
October 4, 2018

Memorable experience

Cris organised a great day for us. The transport was excellent, comfortable and pleasant. The stops were just brilliant. From sipping prosecco and eating the grapes it is made from while taking in the amazing vista.

The winery tour including the explanation of the different processes was great.

From now on it is only DOCG.

Thanks

Tony
October 4, 2018

Great Driver – and positively aim for harvest time (mid-late September)

What can I say other than THANK YOU!!!

We did a trip for my wife’s 40th and basically did exactly what you told us to do. IT WAS AWESOME. We went mid September – harvest time. Some people said not to go at that time because some winery’s do not have time to do tastings. But I would say aim for that date because the aromas as you pass vineyards being harvested manage to compete with the staggeringly breath-taking views.

I tried to book Oriana as our driver based on reviews on this website but she was not free. Instead she put me in touch with a colleague of hers (Christiano) who was nothing short of magnificent. He was friendly, knowledgeable and a very safe driver. What’s more he was a tremendously lovely bloke. He arranged a return trip for us the next day with Oriana so they work together. He turned up in a convertible and it was our good luck. While I was not bothered about a convertible before I am so glad we got it. Because we could see so much more of the view and we could smell the aromas. And hey – we looked cool with a handsome man driving us around. We stayed in Follina at the hotel Abbazia and ate at their restaurant. We were awoken by the tinkling water of the river and the beautiful bells of the local monastery. I could rave on and on but in summary:
Do go for harvest time
Get a convertible if you can
Don’t rush it – take 2 days on the tour
Use Christiano or Oriana to drive you around
Treat yourself to the hotel Abbazia and their restaurant.
Do go to the vending machine place. If not for the Prosecco but for the view. It is quite busy these days but you wouldn’t go to London and not visit Buck Palace!
Chill, relax and enjoy the scenery
We did 2 days in Venice after. Amazingly the Prosecco region made our time in Venice an anti-climax!!

If anyone has any questions I’d be happy to try answer them. I cannot stop raving about the place.

Thanks again. Nick and Louise.

Nick Allen
October 3, 2018

Cris, Cris, Cris!

The tour was great; absolutely breathtaking views. But what’s a good tour, without a good tour guide? Cris was our tour guide and he was absolutely awesome. He was not only extremely knowledgeable, but was so comfortable and easy to talk to! Think my most favorite part was just sitting with Cris, talking to him, and learning more about the Italian culture 🙂 Don’t forget – when you’re in New York, hit us up. We will give you a food tour! 🙂

Elisa & Anthony
October 1, 2018

Outstanding & magical

We had the most extraordinary day visiting the Proseco region with Cris! From the moment he picked us up until he put us back on the train, we felt like we were with a wise & caring family member. Not only did he educate us about Proseco & the region, but also about history, every day living and so much more. We’ve been travelling Italy for the last 2 weeks & this tour & our time with Cris has definitely been one of our highlights! We will definitely be recommending to our Canadian friends & family. Monique & Rhonda

Monique Gray Smith
September 30, 2018

Processco Tour with Oriana

Hello, I just wanted to say what a wonderful tour this was. Oriana was our driver and we couldn’t have asked for a more wonderful time. She spent so much time with us explaining all there was to know about the area. She was very helpful about where we should take the train how she was to pick up taking us to our hotel after and ensuring we got a taxi the next day. The tour itself was fabulous, every winery was beautiful and so accommodating. I order a case of wine to be sent home and it arrived with no problems right as promised. Once again thank you to Oriana, she was a beautiful lady and we enjoyed spending the day with her and your beautiful area!

Hannah Garcia
September 23, 2018

The Queen of the Hills

Oriana is a great hostess. We had a very enjoyable tour, she is chatty and knowledgeable, and had organised every step. Relaxed day out, amazing wineries, with a fantastic lunch at Locanda da Lino to finish.

Chantal Percival
September 23, 2018

More than a driver

Oriana was due to collect us from a winery and take us to the station we had a different driver the day before (Christiano who was equally as fab).

Instead of just getting us to the station she took us a scenic route (she checked first and we were in no hurry at all – the longer you can stay in the region the better). She took us past a million photo op spots and even stopped at what would otherwise have been an anonymous church where we saw some amazing frescos. Would recommend her 100%. You get great local insight. It’s almost a side comment but her driving is lovely and safe too.

Nick Allen
September 21, 2018

Such a great tour!!

We went on this tour for my birthday and it was such a great day! Oriana thought of everything and the places she took us to where lovely, especially the second vineyard which had an amazing view over the whole valley and the lunch was so great.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Christina Moone
September 21, 2018

Awesome Prosecco Tour

Oriana was our guide for the 4 hour tour and what a fantastic time we had. We visited 3 wineries and were able to see the wine harvesting during our visit. She was so informative and entertaining. A must do if you are in the area.

Mai Yokes
September 18, 2018

Fantastic tour!

We will recommend anyone to be guided by Chris during a day. He took us to amazing places where we ate origin food, expereienced different Proseccos in different areas and had a wonderful day. In additional he was a talented guide who Speaks fluent english and a very comfortable and interesting person that we learned a lot from. This day was the best of our 5 days trip to Venice/Prosecco. Just do it!
Sofie & Sebastian

Sofie o Sebastian
September 18, 2018

My family loved it!

Cris was our driver and we had a great time. He picked us up in a comfortable spacious van and drove us around the beautifully scenic prosecco region, we got to try many beautiful wines and a delicious lunch at a tucked away restaurant run by an old couple who grew all produce themselves. Overall great experience, highly recommended!

Jonah
September 6, 2018

Amazing!

This was are favourite day. Oriana was wonderful, and knew exactly the type of wineries we were hoping to see. A good variety, and the restaurant was the best meal of our trip in Italy.

Christine Gauthier
September 5, 2018

Amazing time!

We did a 4h tour with Cris. We visited 2 wineries which both were amazing. The weather was also great and in the end we had some time to chill in the grape gardens. 10/10 would recommend this tour and looking forward to visit Proseccoland again!

Krista Vanni
September 5, 2018

BEST DAY EVER

Cris made our honeymoon feel oh, so special! We had such an amazing time and recommend that everyone spend at least a day exploring the Prosecco region of Italy. Thank you so much Cris for such a wonderful experience to help us start our new lives together. Ciao – Madelyn and Jakob

Madelyn Robinson
September 4, 2018

Relaxing and wonderful!

Our driver Cris took my family on a 5 hour tour where we visited 2 very different Prosecco wineries and learned a lot about the region! We had lunch at a beautiful restaurant overlooking vineyards. It was a great way to spend our last day in Italy and we got to take home plenty of wine to remember the trip! I would highly recommend this for groups because we were able to customize the day that we wanted, and everything was taken care of by Cris. The price of the tour and the price of the wines was also much more reasonable than anything else I have come across and everyone we met at the wineries was very informative and pleasant! 5/5 stars for Cris & the Visit Prosecco tours!

Jennica Justice
September 3, 2018

Best 50th birthday ever…

A huge thank you to Oriana and Cris for an amazing day out exploring the prosecco region and learning loads about bubbles. I can’t think of a better way to celebrate a big birthday. Oriana organised everything in advance for us, it was so easy and so relaxed. We were blown away by the hospitality and warm welcome received from Oriana and Cris when we arrived, we had so much fun laughing our way around the beautiful Italian country side sipping bubbles. We can’t wait to come and visit again.

Thank you so much Cris and Oriana ‘Queen of the hills’!

Martin & Breda
August 29, 2018

BEST TOUR AND GUIDE

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Oriana was a great guide… very informative and accommodating to everything we wanted to see and how long
we wanted to stay at each place. I love Prosecco so this was extra special for me to see the process, visit family owned wineries, and to try Prosecco that I won’t get to buy at home. I learned about what each type means and got to sample pretty much all of it.
Anyone who enjoys wine will appreciate this tour and guide. Highly recommend!!

Barb & Ray
August 22, 2018

Prosecco Tour

What a fabulous tour! Our driver was prompt and most helpful. She was a wealth of information and so enthusiastic about the region. We would take the tour again and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for the personal touch.
Laurie, Terry and Paula
Ontario, Canada

Laurie Leson
August 16, 2018

Outstanding day of touring and sipping!

My wife and I booked with Cris for a daily tour of the prosecco region. Cris was the most professional, informative and helpful driver. He was outstanding and we very much appreciate his communication, guidance and recommendations. We would recommend him to anyone wanting a relaxed, loose day of driving around one of the most beautiful places in Italy. Well done!

Rob Schnabel
August 11, 2018

Amazing Experience with Oriana!

My wife and I found this site after we heard the Prosecco region was only an hour from Venice. Venice was the last leg of our 3-week honeymoon, and my wife absolutely loves Prosecco! We scheduled a tour of 3 vineyards + lunch for the last full day of the trip, and it couldn’t have been more perfect! Oriana, our driver, told us the exact trains we should get from Venice and to return, and communication was excellent. She gave us a nice history of the region on the way to the first vineyard, and had personalized tastings setup at each of the three stops. She took us to this really small, family restaurant for lunch that was so personal we felt like we were in my grandmother’s kitchen! The food was fresh and straight from their garden, and you could tell it was made with love!

Additionally, if you are wondering about how you can get some of this amazing Prosecco home, they have that process solved, too! We picked as many bottles as we wanted from each vineyard (multiples of 6 in total preferred), and Oriana scheduled a pickup/shipment service from the last vineyard. Our Prosecco arrived safely in the US in exactly two weeks!

If for some reason you are still considering saying “no” to this opportunity, you should think about going for the views alone! The abundance of vineyards in the area make for some amazing views and pictures, as you can see!

Tony Cantafio
August 10, 2018

Incredible!

Cris was absolutely amazing! First, he was so helpful with all of our luggage and which we were so thankful for. Second, he was great at navigating yet also making us laugh at all times. He showed us the beautiful countryside of Prosecco which is hard to put into words. The rolling hills, the beautiful colors of green, the history, etc. was magical. Cris was a safe, fun, kind, and hilarious driver who has become a dear friend! We all hope to see him again one day, sooner than later!

Brittany Baird
August 9, 2018

Our fabulous hen party trip

Where do I start!
From the very first communication, it was understood what was wanted and a perfect package designed for our needs and at such a reasonable cost.
Nothing was too much and on the day of the tour, it did not disappoint.
Every member of the party commented on how friendly, knowledgeable, and warm our hosts were.
The day was just perfect and we will definitely be back.
Thanks so much again!

Victoria Read
August 7, 2018

Such an amazing day!

Our prosecco road tour day was unbelievable! I can’t say enough good things about Oriana and the wineries we visited. Definitely an experience that I would recommend to anyone that is interested in learning more about and tasting all kinds of amazing prosecco.

Lindsay R Hodgson
August 7, 2018

An absolutely wonderful experience

Cris’s knowledge of the region and wonderful personality combined for a great experience.

Alan Mandel
August 5, 2018

Sip sip horray!

As a group of 6 friends in Treviso for the weekend, we hired Cris as our Prosecco driver for a Sunday morning trip around the region. We booked very last minute just a few days before and couldn’t believe our luck. I couldn’t rate Cris or the company highly enough… everything ran on time.. we visited two completely different wineries (one family-run with a real traditional feel and one more modern), sampled some fantastic local cheese/biscotti and, of course, Prosecco! There was ample time for tastings, we got great background info from both Cris and the wineries themselves and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We even had time for a visit to the Prosecco vending machines, so take some euros and treat yourself to the tiramisu and a bottle (plastic cups provided) and enjoy the fantastic views!
I’d recommend Cris and this company to anyone visiting the area, it was worth every euro!

Mary Manning
August 3, 2018

A perfect way to spend the day…

I cannot recommend highly enough booking with Visit Prosecco to tour the beautiful Valdobbiadene wine region with a wonderful, knowledgeable guide/driver (Hi Roberta!) to enjoy the wine, the food and the beautiful scenery.

From start to finish, Jo and Roberta were great to work with and made booking and planning the tour simple and easy and I appreciated their recommendation for how long we would need to do everything we wanted. Roberta picked us up from the cruise terminal in Venice and on the way to the first winery suggested stopping for an espresso at an amazing coffee bar with wonderful pastries and treats so if she suggests it to you – say “yes please!!”.

The two wineries we visited (La Tordera & Col Vetoraz) were beautiful, the wines were wonderful and they taught us a lot about the region and the different styles of Prosecco and were very generous with their tasting pours. Roberta also shared her knowledge about the wines and answered all of our questions so we felt like we really got to know a lot about Prosecco and the region. Treat yourself to a bottle of DOCG Superiore di Cartizze – I promise you will not regret it – and the price is so reasonable compared to what you pay back at home just for basic DOC Prosecco.

Lunch at a small Osteria on the hillside with a wonderful view and fantastic food was a great break between the two wineries and you have to try a bottle of Col Fondo Prosecco made the old fashioned way with the yeast sediment still in the bottom of the bottle. We tried a cloudy glass with the sediment mixed in, then a clear glass when it settled and they were very different, but both very delicious!

For the wonderful immersive experience you get with a passionate, knowledgeable guide taking you to excellent wineries and restaurants, the cost was very reasonable and great value in my opinion. We looked at just hiring a private driver who would have been about 50% more expensive and all you would get is a driver, not an expert guide who knows the best places to visit and will make sure you have an experience to remember for the rest of your life.

After a stop for the mandatory daily gelato, Roberta dropped us off at our hotel near the airport (which also saved us paying for a transfer from the cruise terminal) and we couldn’t have found a better way to spend our last day in Italy before heading home. It really was an experience you will remember forever so thank you Roberta (and Jo) for giving it to us!

Vivian, Mark, Ingrid & Danielle

Vivian Chow
July 27, 2018

Prosecco Road

Age 64 years , Australian couple, fit for travel . June 2018.
We hired Oreana as our private driver for a day to tour the Prosecco Road region.
It was a wild weather day – we had the region to ourselves.
Oreana took us to a few excellent wine houses and a family operated lunch bar.
The region is full of family sized vineyards so the proprietors are very friendly and brand conscious of their product being sampled in the best possible fashion.
The drivers’ hotel resort recommendation was perfect for us- quiet, just out of the town, high on a hill and had a very focused kitchen putting out interesting foods.
torneremo … grazie

Davi & Kerry
July 23, 2018

Amazing Day!

What a great day! Staying in Venice and took the train in easily. Oriana picked us up and we were off. Theee beautiful and delicious wineries and we learned so much. Even on a Sunday we were able to experience the area and people. We had a great time even the kids said this was a highlight of the trip because it was so beautiful. Our lunch was like we were at our family home, it was fantastic. Thanks so much for this recommendation I’m so glad we decided to venture out!!!!

Kathleen Kulp
July 21, 2018

A relaxing and interesting opportunity for (sparkling) wine people

We toured Prosecco region during June, visiting several very nice wineries. We’ve enjoyed Napa/Sonoma a number of times but we really enjoyed how low-key this area was. Its an easy train ride from Venice. We realized quickly that most of the Prosecco we are exposed to in the US is the more mediocre sparkling. If you enjoy sparkling wine and good food, put this on your itinerary.

David Fox
July 20, 2018

A Perfect 10 Prosecco Tour with Roberta

My group of seven ladies (flight attendants with their daughters and friends) had the most spectacular day of touring the prosecco region; organized by the wonderful Roberta (our driver, guide and host).

Roberta picked us up at our hotel in Venice and so began our fantastic prosecco adventure. On our way, we stopped for cappuccinos and breakfast pastries at the most splendid bakery; the likes of which I thought only could exist in dreams. It was the perfect way to kick off the day. Our next stop was at the first of three wineries, where to our delight not only did we have a lovely selection of prosecco to taste, but snack sized food pairings to go along with it. We felt more like guests in someone’s home than tourists. Delightful to say the least. We stopped for a photo op along the way to winery number two. The second winery was a larger operation, where we had a tasting with the backdrop of overwhelmingly beautiful panoramic views.

As we drove between stops, Roberta gave us a bit of a history lesson on the region, etc. She is extremely knowledgeable, kind and generous. Our next stop was a charming restaurant in the hills, where we indulged in a leisurely lunch of scrumptious dishes. The final stop of the day was at a soon to be organic certified winery producing Cartizze DOCG Prosecco. The proprietor gave us a 45 min in-depth prosecco tasting and lesson. By this point of the day, we’d all picked up a bit of prosecco vocabulary, which helped us to be extra engaged students. It was the perfect way to wrap up our wonderfully educational, enjoyable and joyful day of touring.

Roberta planned the perfect itinerary and picked a selection of wineries that each offered something unique in experience. Everyone in my group raved about the tour. Roberta is simply fantastic!!

Augusta
July 20, 2018

Had a super day, couldn’t be better

The personalised service and the knowledge of our driver, Kris, was exceptional. We had a fabulous day. The first winery was superb. We loved the wines and the tour and the tasting! The second had splendid views. Lunch was also a highlight. All in all a splendid and brilliant day.

Carol
July 20, 2018

Best Day of Our Trip

My husband and I were spending time in Venice for our honeymoon, and we decided to spend a day in the Prosecco region. The last thing I wanted was to spend hundreds of dollars for a cookie-cutter tour at a commercial winery, flooded with other tourists. I found this site, and I’ll be honest, the lack of reviews made me a little nervous. However, the reviews are only minimal because this is a fairly new operation, and rest assured, it has NOTHING to do with the quality of the experience. We spent 4 hours with Cris and it was by far, our favorite day of our entire trip. From the moment we began corresponding with Cris via email, he was nothing but friendly and professional. Our tour began the second we got in the car, as Cris shared with us information about the Prosecco region. We visited two wineries where we were greeted with a private tasting of some of the best wines we have ever tasted (proof – we couldn’t help but ship 6 bottles home, and we wish we’d shipped more). At the first winery, we were actually given a tour of the facility by one of the owners. Our day ended with an amazing, delicious, authentic lunch at a restaurant completely hidden from tourists, the owners, who were the ones taking care of us, didn’t speak a word of English, and obviously it was the best meal we ate during our entire stay in Italy. The region was beautiful and a much-needed break from the busy, crowded streets of Venice. We could not recommend this experience enough. It was a great value and an excellent experience. We would do it again in a heartbeat! Thank you, Cris!

Jillian
July 19, 2018

Our driver Cris was AWESOME!!!!!

I am a huge fan of Prosecco and all my husband and I wanted for our honeymoon was a driver to take us from vineyard to vineyard for tastings. Well our driver Cris was absolutely incredible to work with. He went above and beyond! Even before we arrived in Italy he was in constant communication via email and really tailored our tour to our likes. For example I wanted to see the Prosecco vending machines on the side of the road and he remembered to make a stop to include that. Since the weather was nice he even offered an upgrade in transportation by using his bmw convertible to travel the country side! Cris has built wonderful relationships with the different vineyard owners which made for a more personal experience. We would highly recommend Cris to any of our friends and family knowing that they would be in great hands!

Anna Putegnat
July 15, 2018

Traveler and Wine Lover

My sister and I had a Prosecco tasting tour with Cris at the end of June. What a wonderful experience! Cris was very easy to correspond with and was able to work with us even though we wanted to taste on a Sunday. He gave us all of the necessary information needed for the train and meeting up with him, as well as getting back to Venice. We loved the 3 wineries he took us to as well as Osteria Senz’Oste where we got to enjoy bread, meat, cheese and Prosecco from the vending machine 🙂
Cris was very polite, interesting to talk to, shared many details about the history, wine and the region, and he truly went above and beyond for us. It seemed like he had a personal connection with the people at the wineries which was really nice.
We would recommend working with him for a tasting anytime!
We also had the opportunity to meet Oriana because our tours intersected. She was a lot of fun as well and the girls on her trip were having a ball.
A side note: While my sister and I loved the personal feel of our own driver, we would have been fine meeting up with a few people to prolong the trip while sharing the cost. The whole trip was amazing but I think we had the most fun when tasting with the 3 girls that were with Oriana. If it’s possible to offer putting small groups together I highly recommend it for the experience and to offset the cost a bit.
Overall, this was an unforgettable experience! I have tasted wine in Burgundy, Bordeaux, Chablis, Tuscany and the Languedoc, and this tour was fantastic! Cris was an excellent driver and guide, with lots of information.
Thanks, Cris! Next time I come to Venice I definitely want to do this again!

Jules Perhacs
July 13, 2018

Just do it!

What can I say … just do it!

I was visiting Treviso recently with five friends, and we booked a prosecco tour with Visit Prosecco. Cris was our driver and he was great; friendly, informative, and fun. And his English was excellent (which was important for us as none of us could speak Italian).

We all really enjoyed the tour and would be happy to recommend it to any other wine lovers visiting the region.

Bill Wild
July 10, 2018

Highlight of our trip!

My boyfriend and I had 4 nights in Venice and kept being told prior to leaving on our trip that was more than enough time. I love prosecco so was really excited to realize we were so close to prosecco region of Italy.

Our day with Oriana was an amazing time and truly a highlight of the trip! She picked us up from the train station and did such an amazing job explaining and entertaining us as we drove throughout the prosecco road. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience, we first went to this winery Borgoluce which had fantastic prosecco and just as delicious buffalo mozzarella. (if we could have shipped back the buffalo mozzarella we would have it was SOO good!). Then went to this amazing winery Adami followed up by lunch at this small family run Italian osteria (so authentic that they didn’t speak English so Oriana graciously helped assist with translation) Food at lunch was our top 2 meals in all of Italy, simple traditional and scrumptious food! (highly recommend the potatoes!) We wrapped it up with our final winery with panoramic views Col Vetoraz. We ordered and received prosecco from all 3 wineries! Will definitely be ordering more prosecco in the future from all 3 places and next time we are in Italy will be doing a tour with Oriana, she was such an an amazing personality! She even gave us a recommendation for a hidden gem for us to see when we went back to Venice, Scala Contarini del Bovolo, a spiral staircase that is hidden away in the middle of Venice. Such an amazing sight, which we wouldn’t have even known about without her advice!
Thank you Oriana for such a great time!

Brittany J.
July 9, 2018

Totally worth it!

Cris picked us up from the train station in an adorable BMW comfortable, and along the way shared with us an overview of the region. It was a beautiful, slow drive along the hillsides and up into the “Proseccoshire” where we had a wine tasting, learning about the variances in wine sweetness and regional processes. The personalized experience added to the amazing scenary to create a once in a lifetime experience.

I highly recommend Cris as we felt safe and well-informed throughout the time we spent with him.

Tara Sparks
July 3, 2018

Best Afternoon of our Entire European Trip!

We were greeted at the very quaint train station in Spresiano by Cris, our tour guide. We were very excited to be touring without a big group! Just myself, my partner and Cris. Perfect! Cris was delightfully informative and we were able to visit two Prosecco wineries. We were given a tour and tasting at Malibran Winery and learned so much about the Prosecco region and the wine itself! Of course it was delicious! We then proceeded up into the hills and vineyards to the ‘Inn with No Innkeeper’ for some lunch. Words cannot describe this truly remarkable experience. For us, it was everything we had hoped for in Italy. Yummy bread, cheese, wine and sitting atop a hillside of vineyards with a rickety table and chairs, and breathtaking view! So memorable.
We then headed towards the family owned and operated Prosecco winery of NaniRizzi. Completely different experience and also incredibly charming and one could feel the family love for their business. And, of course the wine was delicious!
Cris delivered us back to a train station and we departed wanting more of the beautiful Prosecco region (and Cris)!
Thank you so much. Highly recommend!

Wendy Sidwell
July 3, 2018

Amazing day of tastings!

My boyfriend and I are major prosecco connoisseurs and were thrilled to spend a beautiful day wine tasting in the Valdobbiadene region. Chris was an excellent guide – he made the booking process easy, gave perfect train directions, was waiting for us when we arrived, shared plenty of knowledge and took us to all the right places. We absolutely loved the hidden gems he showed us, especially the osteria with its own prosecco vending machine and Nani Rizzi, our new favorite prosecco! I’d 100% recommend booking Chris for anyone who is looking to have a fun-filled and memorable day!

Meredith Colbert
July 2, 2018

An amazing tour of the Prosecco region

We spent a wonderful 4 hours in the Prosecco region with Cristiano, our driver, who was very knowledgeable about the area. He took us along a very beautiful route, passing acres of vines and countryside. He knew so much about each village, and told us lots of very interesting facts. When we reached our destination, which was at the top of a very steep mountain, we had a wonderful lunch of cheese, meat, bread and of course Prosecco, from L’Osteria Senza Oste – this place was absolutely incredible, and we will never forget our experience there! Cristiano stayed with us, telling us the history of the vineyard and the winery nearby, where we enjoyed hearing about the production of the wine and had some tastings of their delicious Prosecco. It was a fantastic day, made all the more enjoyable by Cristiano’s helpfulness and willingness to share his knowledge of the region. He was able to answer all our questions and gave us a day to remember – thank you, Cristiano!

Margaret Thomas
July 1, 2018

Excellent Day in Prosecco Country

Six of us have a week in Venice in May each year. This was the first year that we took a trip out of the city. We arranged a visit to the prosecco region.
We took the train to Mestre and were met by Cris in a very smart and comfortable Mercedes people carrier. Cris was an excellent host – friendly, knowledgeable and speaking excellent English. We went to two wineries – Col Vetoraz and Nana Rizzi. We could have managed a third, but a good lunch was more appealing. The two we visited were quite different – Col Vetoraz has a very smart visitor centre; Nana Rizzi was more focussed on production, although it will build a centre. Both offered a full range of excellent prosecco – from brut to semi sweet – and were generous in their tastings.. The view from Col Vetoraz was superb.
We dined at the Trattoria de Angelina, a place for those living in the area, rather than visitors – very simple place, but the food was sublime. And the service very welcoming. Cris ate with us, so the conversation flowed with the staff.
Afterwards, we were driven to Conegliano for the train back to Venice – a pleasant town, worth a hour or two exploring.
And very enjoyable and comfortable day with a first class host. Recommended

Peter Smith
July 1, 2018

Absolutely Incredible!

If you have an extra day in Venice, you MUST visit Prosecco. We had 3 days in Venice and understood the crowds/tourism can be overwhelming. That is when I discovered Jo’s website and how much she recommended visiting Prosecco- and I’m so glad she did!!! First of all, the town is absolutely breathtaking- something out of a movie… but most of all, our tour guide/driver Cris made it that much more special. Communication with him was seamless- he practically planned our entire itinerary. He was so knowledgeable about the town as well as the history of Prosecco and the wineries we visited. I highly recommend visiting Marchiori first, and then Col Vetoraz afterward (the views!!!). We took a 3 hour tour and found it to be enough time. But more time would be wonderful as well. Again, I highly recommend booking a tour through this website with one of their wonderful drivers. It made our trip so special and I really trusted Cris. Highly recommend!!!

Alex Casstevens
June 30, 2018

Outstanding experience

My family and I just returned from our two week vacation in Italy. One of the highlights of our trip was a visit to the wineries along Prosecco Road with Oriana. She picked us up from the train station and took us to three different wineries. Two were small family owned wineries, where we had our own private tasting of wine (and tasty local food) with tour guides who were very informative. The third winery was larger with terrific views! We ended up buying several bottles from each winery to take home with us. Oriana planned such a wonderful experience for us that we will never forget! She is very friendly and we enjoyed her company. I highly recommend taking a tour with her! You won’t regret it!

Laura H
June 18, 2018

Fabulous

We had an amazing day tour in the Prosecco region. Our driver/guide, Roberta, was excellent. Great to find out more about the grape and the process of making the wine and the tastings were fun.
Highly recommend!

Rachel
June 16, 2018

EXCELLENT TOUR

This tour is just what we were looking for on that day. Carefree and easy. Roberta picked us up from our cruise ship and quickly took us to the wine country. There we had a private wine tasting at a beautiful winery. The experience was fantastic. Then we moved on through the countryside and stopped at an Off The Beaten Path place with a very nice little restaurant with excellent food. The flowers there are very beautiful. Roberta is a great ambassador for these tours. Informative, very personable and great to be around. She finished the day with a small cruise through the countryside and dropping us off at our airport hotel for our flights in the morning. The experience and value of this tour far exceeds its cost. You need to come over and GET SOME OF THIS………..Richard and Susan Yeatts…..Texas

richard yeatts
June 16, 2018

Perfect day

We has a great time learning about Prosecco, tasting Prosecco and visiting the Prosecco wineries! Our Visit Prosecco tour was the perfect day!

Carrie McNeely
June 16, 2018

Magical Prosecco Tour with Oriana

My husband and I had a wonderful experience with Oriana touring the Prosecco Road.
Throughout the scenic drive, Oriana shared the history of the region and the process of winemaking. Our first stop we met Anna, we ate meats, cheeses, apricots, jams and bread and of course tasted the delicious Prosecco. We never felt rushed as Anna shared her family’s history of winemaking. Through winding roads, beautiful vistas and quaint villages we visited our second winery. The grounds and facility were breathtaking and the DOCG Prosecco spectacular.
Afterward Oriana took us to a restaurant with a hilltop view and delicious meal.
She returned us to the train stop and we felt as though we were saying goodbye to a friend.
Oriana is a lively local who knows the area, is loaded with personality and made our visit to the Prosecco Region even more than we had hoped it would be.
Thank you Oriana.
Ty and Sara Bateman

Sara Bateman
June 14, 2018

We so enjoyed our time with Oriana. She is a very good driver and knows the secrets of the Prosecco region. I highly recommend her to anyone who wants to explore the area.

We so enjoyed our time with Oriana. She is a very good driver and knows the secrets of the Prosecco region. I highly recommend her to anyone who wants to explore the area. Oriana gave us specific details on the train route from Venice and she met us at the station. From there she drove us around the DOCG Prosecco area which is beautiful. We enjoyed some wine tasting and a wonderful lunch. We had a great day and will do it again when we return!

Carol Schreur
June 10, 2018

Highlight of our Vacation!

As the title says, this trip was the highlight of our Italian vacation. Corresponding with Oriana and planning everything ahead of the trip was very straightforward, she let us know where and when to meet and the rest was in her hands. The wineries she chose were amazing. We started the tour with a winery that gave us a complete overview of the region, how Prosecco is made, what all the different grape types are, and what the ratings mean. From there we went to two more wineries, the latter was on the foothills overlooking the region, giving a view that you have to see to believe. “Top 3 if not Top 1” on our all-time official vista list.

We can not thank Oriana enough for being so welcoming and taking us around the area. Initially we were on the fence about doing the tour ourselves by renting a car, but with how awesome Oriana was knowing the best places to go I can say we made the right decision. A+ for Oriana as a host, A+ wineries and views, and A+ Prosecco!

Derek B
June 5, 2018

great

we booked Oriana for a tour, taking in a few vineyards. she met us on time at the train station.
she was fantastic, very knowledgeable and informative.
it was just like meeting an old friend. the tour was great, we would very deffinatly reccomend to everyone. we had a great time. thank you

Roy Mandy Paul Emma

roy williams
June 5, 2018

Amazing Day!

Thanks so much for your information regarding a day visiting Prosecco Road. We met Roberta our driver at the station and we had such an incredible day. A day we will never forget. We visited small family run vineyards and finished with the most amazing vineyard. Roberta was incredibly knowledgeable. Roberta recommended a a local restaurant for lunch which was superb as was a visit to their incredible cellar. The day was filled Beautiful scenery, food and wine and only bring an hour from Venice was a plus. We could not have done this without our driver or the info on this great blog.

Kim Gibbs
June 4, 2018

AMAZING!

Booked a prosecco your trip with Oriana for 4 people. We had a great time with Oriana from the moment she met us at the train station! She was so accommodating and knowledgable. You can tell how much she loves her job! Oriana gave us various info throughout our drive up the hills. We stopped at two different vineyards for tasting and also a tour of one of them to see production etc. Both were great. We then visited a lovely little place for lunch where the food was beautiful and the tiramisu exquisite! Oriana was even kind enough to wait for us whilst we visited the famous prosecco vending machine! I would highly recommend this trip and I will certainly do it again when I come back! Thank you X

Jessica Parsons
May 30, 2018

wonderful hospitality – beautiful wine and people and countryside

I spent a month in Venice in Oct/Nov 2017 and finished up with a week cruising the Veneto. I booked a trip with Oriana having seen the write up on Indiana Jo and wasn’t disappointed. Two wonderful vineyards – both very different (there could have been more but I was enjoying the wines too much). I also stayed at a fantastic AirBnB in a little town just out of Conegliano called Falze di Piave. The place I stayed was Casa Stella, Via Belvedere, 55, Falzé di Piave. The hosts were incredibly welcoming and invited me in to their home for a glass of Prosecco and cheese and nibbles and a chat and then also brought me a bottle of Prosecco to my rooms to welcome me to the area. The nicest people. Would have loved to stay longer.

Tip from Visit Prosecco Italy: if you are new to Airbnb you can get up to £25 off your first booking by clicking on Aibnb here.

Louise Phillips
May 30, 2018

Outstanding!!

We had the pleasure of sending half a day with Oriana in early April 2018.
Oriana was knowledgeable, professional and a ton of fun! Spending time with Oriana on Procsesso Trail was highlight of our trip to Italy. We cant wait to come back to see Oriana and explore more of the trail.

Lisa Qualls
May 29, 2018

Best day ever

prosecco tour review

We spent 5 days in Venice for our honeymoon, our trip to the Prosecco region was definitely our best day! Oriana was amazing and she took us to 3 beautiful wineries. I was so excited to visit the Prosecco vending machine and it was even better than I had hoped! I am so glad I stumbled across this blog by chance. Thank you so much for an incredible day!

Nicole Mills
May 29, 2018

Best tour in Italy!!!

We had the pleasure of exploring Prosecco Trail with Oriana in Early April 2018. She was not only very knowledgeable about the area, but so much fun. Her Infectious personality made our time in the Prosecco area, the highlight of our time in Italy.
We visited 2 wineries and stopped for lunch at a place owned by a local. The wineries we visited were, Marchiori and Col Vetoraz.
Marchiori was very educational and of course the Prosecco was fantastic . The view from Col Vetoraz is breathtaking, don’t pass on making the small hike to the wine vending machine! Our group tasted their Grappa-whew!!! An experience in its self, don’t miss out.
We will defiantly be back to explore the other vineyards and to meet more of the locals. We would not even think of making the trip without reserving Oriana to continue our journey thru Prosecco Country!
Thank you again Oriana, for sharing your time and knowledge with the 4 of us from North Carolina.

Lisa S
April 29, 2018

looking forward

We have just set a booking with Roberta for May 24th 2018. From what I have gathered, looks to be a joyful afternoon. To be continued.

richard yeatts
April 21, 2018

Highlight of our trip!

Oriana was fantastic – knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. She took us to two wonderful places, each completely different, and a beautiful spot for lunch. If you’re not a Prosecco fan when you start, you will be by the end! Thank you Oriana.

Mindy Kolof
April 16, 2018

Oriana is the best!

My husband and I just returned from Italy. On advice from a friend, we booked a night in Castel Brando and an afternoon Prosecco Tour with Oriana. I’m so glad that we did this. It was really a highlight of our trip! Oriana is so lovely. She picked us up from the Castel. She remembered my friend who booked with her months before and I even called my friend and we all talked in the car. Oriana took us to 3 wineries. There were all private tastings. The first was with the owner of the winery herself. It was such a treat to have such personal service, I can’t recommend Oriana highly enough. My husband doesn’t even like Prosecco and yet he came away from it falling in love with it and the region.

We paid 200euros for the 4 hour trip and it was the perfect amount of time. It’s such a great value.

Nikki Yates
March 24, 2018

I have just finished booking next years holiday and yes… having another tour with her

Hi, We saw your post last year and my son did his homework and booked Oriana in June, she is the Queen of the Prosecco region. She is amazing, she took 3 of us to 3 wineries, we had the best ever lunch and she kept us entertained with her knowledge and stories. We enjoyed it so much we paid another visit a few weeks ago, going back to our favourite.. same as your pic Col Vetoraz but went to 2 different ones. I have just finished booking next years holiday and yes… having another tour with her. I cant rate her highly enough. Got some lovely pics. It may seem expensive but how much do you pay to get into museums and galleries. See you next year Oriana Carol Jameson

20 October 2017

This review was originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy.

Carol Jameson
January 13, 2018

It was a “calgon take me away day”

Read about you and your blog way back in april. so happy to have found it, sent oriana an email and we are set up with her tour on Tuesday September 19. we (3 60+ lady friends and 30yo daughter) flying this Saturday to venice. we are taking the train to susegana and oriana will start our tour about 9am. can’t wait till the “bubbly and sparklin” party to begin. will post when I get back to USA in October. Paris is next and we are reserved for a fun 2CV car tour in reims and champagne bliss ride on the seine. then to Amsterdam.
after reading your site some travelers from different forums have asked and I forwarded your site to them to read up. one thing about oriana, she was always prompt getting back with emails and what she had available, I’m so glad we reserved her a few months ago and the tour is right at harvest time. thanks jo

11 September 2017

I did email oriana and reserved a day with her september19 for prosecco tour. It was fabulous and she is the prosecco queen! There were 4 ladies from san francisco area, took the train to susegana and met by her. Drove thru the small towns, villages and gorgeous countryside. She was very informative and funny since she is a native of this area. The tastings were great, stopped and had lunch that was so good. Was able to stop and take pictures along the way. After our long day of touring and tasting she dropped us back off at train station. With our 3 bottles of prosecco we bought, came back to our fabulous apartment in venice (cannareggio area) and celebrated more with the fizz
Thanks for your article and i will put it out there if anyone interested with getting away from some of the maddening crowds and chaos that can happen there. It was a “calgon take me away day”

8 October 2017

These reviews were originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy.

Marion
January 13, 2018

Email her and just go!

Oriana is awesome. She is the ‘Queen of the Hills’ and she should have a
crown! My husband and I spent the day with her yesterday 15 September! Loved it. Email her and just go! Lisa and Malcolm

16 September 2017

This review was originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy.

Lisa
January 13, 2018

We had an amazing day with Oriana and I would highly recommend her!

Hi!
Thanks to my googling and your post about the Prosecco road I got in touch with Oriana.
We were a group of 5 people, and went to Venice late august. We spent a day with her, driving us around to different wineries, a place for excellent lunch, telling stories.

We had an amazing day with Oriana and I would highly recommend her!

31 August 2017

This review was originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy.

Line
January 13, 2018

I love prosecco but didn’t want to spend a fortune on a tour!

I’m so glad I found your post about Oriana – we’ll be taking her tour in September. I love prosecco but didn’t want to spend a fortune on a tour!

29 July 2017

This review was originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy.

Julie Packard
January 13, 2018

Personalized our tour to fit our needs

Thanks for all your tips! My husband and I are so happy we made it to the land of prosecco this April 🙂 Through your blog, we hired Oriana and she was the best. She personalized our tour to fit our needs, spend hours with us (and never made us feel rushed), and showed us local spots we would never have found on our own. She was much more than a driver and instead felt like a friend. Highly recommend. The Best Western was great too! All in all a wonderful experience. I hope to go back one day!

3 May 2017

This review was originally posted on Indiana Jo (Prosecco Tour article), the sister site and pre-cursor to Visit Prosecco Italy. 

Shannon
January 13, 2018